The Dressmaker’s Secret (Book Review!)

EC4FF42F-158E-4BD3-A122-A83EF683701E

WARNING: If you are not familiar with The Dressmaker’s Secret, this review might spoil something…

*squeaks*

If they knew who she was, they’d never accept what she’s become.

Claire will stop at nothing to provide for her daughters. An unwed mother, she does everything possible to raise them whilst avoiding her scandalous past. Some secrets are best kept, even between mother and daughter.

Alice longs for a father, especially if that means her mother will be happy. She takes matters into her own hands—but she never expected what she finds.

Despite her efforts to shelter her daughters, Claire’s ghosts rise up to haunt her, and any semblance of control over her life vanishes. If her secrets are uncovered, what will become of her family?

 

Genre is Christian historical women’s fiction. Era is 1870s (Victorian). Setting is England (London, Kent, Yorkshire).

I wasn’t really excited about this review until like, a few minutes ago when I finally finished reading The Dressmaker’s Secret. (Here’s an Amie secret. She procrastinates, and doesn’t finish reading books she’s supposed to review until the day of, or the day before the actual review.)

I’ve read the previous edition of The Dressmaker’s Secret twice at least, and so I was kinda like, okay? Because through the first half of the book, everything is very much the same, just…better wording? XD I mean, as writer’s grow, they’re able to take out telling, and write better. But then I got to the second half and *holds onto my chair so I don’t fall off* WHAT JUST HAPPENED.

The whole Ivy and Alice world has been utterly and completely changed. I am…blow away. And I need Ivy Introspective as soon as humanly possible. But I should actually get onto some useful information, correct?

Alice is the same girl that we all love. Just as stubborn, as funny, and as lively. I was so happy to see that her character hasn’t been changed in the least. (I’m kinda hoping that as Kellyn rewrites the books, she’ll change who Alice marries, because I’m a firm Alice and Kirk shipper. XD) I loved seeing her explore her world over the two years that the book covers. I can’t remember if Ivy was as insignificant in the previous drafts as she seemed in this draft. I thought that she was there more as someone for Alice to compare herself to in previous drafts, but I don’t know what I’m talking about.

Miss Claire Chattoway. *shakes head slowly* I honesty don’t know what to do with her. Part of me wants to ship her back to France. XD The other half is like, “WELL. She was trying to take care of her girls.” I cannot imagine the trouble she must have gone through. *shakes head* Still. XD I’m not sure if I would like her.

ALSO, HOW COULD SHE BE MEAN TO MRS. KNIGHT. Mrs. Knight is a Southern-born, tea-drinking teddy bear! *hugs Mrs. Knight protectively* And she loved Ivy and Alice, so what right did Clair have to be slightly frosty to her? No right at all, thank you very much for agreeing.

And Mr. Parker? I loved*cough cough* liked Mr. Parker immensely. I have no idea how someone can make…Well, is he supposed to be the villain or not?! Because if he’s the villain, he’s an extremely likable one. But he might not be a villain, and this could be a story without a villain.

I don’t know, I’m just rambling at this point. 😂

Of course, I’ve been avoiding talking about Mr. Knight, simply for the reason that he wasn’t my favorite character, and I don’t want to spoil anything for those of you that haven’t read The Dressmaker’s Secret. Basically, I don’t really like Mr. Knight. Simply for the reason that Alice doesn’t ever like him until suddenly, she likes him. But you’ve skipped a few months, so it’s hard to understand why she likes him? So that is all I’m going to say about Mr. Knight.

OVERALL, The Dressmaker’s Secret left me mind blown. Like, how. HOW!? Totally gets five stars, like Kellyn’s books usually get. I mean, IT’S SO GOOD.

CA6C31F4-A4CB-47E8-9646-583DDAA32AB5_4_5005_c

So please, go enter this giveaway, and purchase The Dressmaker’s Secret!

And if you would like to find Kellyn, here’s her links!

FACEBOOK: http://facebook.com/kellynrothauthor/

INSTAGRAM: http://instagram.com/kellynrothauthor/

TWITTER: http://twitter.com/kellyntheauthor/

WEBSITE: http://kellynrothauthor.com/  

NEWSLETTER: https://kellynrothauthor.com/newsletter   

AND WITH THAT, I shall leave y’all to enjoy your Saturday. Toodles!

~~Amie~~

5 thoughts on “The Dressmaker’s Secret (Book Review!)

  1. Jo says:

    i keep forgetting these are the rewrites and i’m like SAY WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHT
    this was indeed a lovely tour, and i can’t wait to see kell come into her own with these characters 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment